ArpiCade no power over harness but works over micro usb

Thinking about getting a RaspberryJAMMA, or have just purchased one and have a newbie question? Walls here are padded, come on in and bounce your question off of them!

Moderator: dee2eR

Post Reply
dj3stripes
Community Member
Community Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2022 6:31 pm

ArpiCade no power over harness but works over micro usb

Post by dj3stripes » Sun Sep 18, 2022 9:02 pm

My Simpsons harness isn't powering on my ArpiCade but I can use the Micro SD power input and it works fine. The OEM simpsons board boots fine. Is there a jumper or dip switch I need to look into as to why power isn't being sent over GPIO to to the pi 3b?

dee2eR
Inventor
Inventor
Posts: 1671
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:07 pm

Re: ArpiCade no power over harness but works over micro usb

Post by dee2eR » Mon Sep 19, 2022 2:54 am

Check the continuity of the fuse on the RaspberryJAMMA board. If it has blown it would cause the symptoms as described.

dj3stripes
Community Member
Community Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2022 6:31 pm

Re: ArpiCade no power over harness but works over micro usb

Post by dj3stripes » Mon Sep 19, 2022 1:02 pm

Thanks for the suggestion dee2eR. I'll give it a check after work. If it needs to be replaced which fuse would I replace it with?

dee2eR
Inventor
Inventor
Posts: 1671
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:07 pm

Re: ArpiCade no power over harness but works over micro usb

Post by dee2eR » Tue Sep 20, 2022 4:30 am

you'll want a 2.5A fuse if you need to replace it. Ignore the PCB saying 1A, I designed the PCBs when RPis had lower current draw, all boards for the last few years have had 2.5A fitted as standard.

dj3stripes
Community Member
Community Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2022 6:31 pm

Re: ArpiCade no power over harness but works over micro usb

Post by dj3stripes » Thu Sep 22, 2022 6:38 pm

Thank you. I had already ordered some 1A fuses. I've been able to replace it and so far so good!

Post Reply