ARpiCADE 4.3 (for RPi4)

Latest on ARpiCADE new releases, release notes, and history of previous versions.

Moderator: dee2eR

bash64
Contributing Member
Contributing Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2022 6:40 am

Re: ARpiCADE 4.3 (for RPi4)

Post by bash64 » Sat Mar 26, 2022 4:04 am

wells garderner
the tube is marked WGEC 088x0407-001
27" as far as i know.


arpicade 3, no problems, runs hires.

bash64
Contributing Member
Contributing Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2022 6:40 am

Re: ARpiCADE 4.3 (for RPi4)

Post by bash64 » Sat Mar 26, 2022 11:17 am

can you tell me what tools you use to generate the modeline for hdmi_timings?
i am going to install xrandr and other tools to try and get it done today

dee2eR
Inventor
Inventor
Posts: 1860
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:07 pm

Re: ARpiCADE 4.3 (for RPi4)

Post by dee2eR » Sat Mar 26, 2022 12:23 pm

I use a spreadsheet to work out hdmi_timings. I'm not sure an hdmi_timing is what you're after though. In high res mode resolution switching is disabled so if other stuff looks fine Daphne stuff should too (at least the first time you launch a game, due to the previously mentioned SDL bug).

If you mean other games look fine in low res mode you're probably best off sticking to low res mode but I'm not sure why Daphne stuff doesn't look OK in low res mode for you. Dragons Lair was 480i originally as far as I'm aware. - but I'm pretty sure you don't mean that as you say your Pi3 is in high res...

xrandr won't help. Nothing is running under X.

I'll have a look at Daphne in high res tomorrow and see if I can figure anything out.

bash64
Contributing Member
Contributing Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2022 6:40 am

Re: ARpiCADE 4.3 (for RPi4)

Post by bash64 » Sat Mar 26, 2022 1:29 pm

i am willing to run lowres in pi4 lowres but that means waiting for the bugfix

i tried vcgencmd hdmi_cvt 640 480 60
hdmi_timings=1280 0 32 128 160 480 1 3 2 15 0 0 2 59 0 47500000 3

and pasted that in

i see your point
i guess its just a hurry up and wait game
and , yes, i use hires mode in arpicade 3 and it runs DL
maybe i need to go back and reverify that
sometimes i get confused

p.s. its not that DL wont run in 640x480 on pi4. I cannot even boot properly in that mode.
the screen is wavy so i was looking to generate a proper hdmi_timings line

bash64
Contributing Member
Contributing Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2022 6:40 am

Re: ARpiCADE 4.3 (for RPi4)

Post by bash64 » Sat Mar 26, 2022 3:35 pm

i finally understood what your saying and went back to the default 960x480i mode
it was my understanding from the release notes that DL needed hires 640x480 and i needed to turn that on manually in config.txt
i will wait for the bug fix
thanks for responding

bash64
Contributing Member
Contributing Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2022 6:40 am

Re: ARpiCADE 4.3 (for RPi4)

Post by bash64 » Tue Mar 29, 2022 4:20 am

final notes:
dragons lair started working, but if you get out and back in it goes black screen until you reboot the pi.
not a big deal.
i am using the default 960x480i

i can only see joystick #1 (2nd joystick) out of 4 joysticks.
to fix this I added a line to run.sh to swap js1 for js0 on boot.
had to do this as daphne only uses the first joystick in the system

to do:
get all 4 joysticks working
if i plug in the pi3 i see all 4.
must be a software issue with arpicade4

dee2eR
Inventor
Inventor
Posts: 1860
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:07 pm

Re: ARpiCADE 4.3 (for RPi4)

Post by dee2eR » Tue Mar 29, 2022 6:40 am

Did you run the 4.3.1 update and then set 4 player mode (both from the service menu)? Sounds like the driver four the four player adaptor may not be running but it's hard to be certain. It should work without too much messing around, I know I'm not the only person that has used the four player adaptor with Pi4...

Do you still have a bunch of extra controllers attached? That could mess up the joystick order, Linux loves to randomly assign orders... if so it maybe worth testing without them attached until you're certain the four player board is working, just to rule out any extra complications. Once you know it all works you should be able to fix any assignment issues from within the emulators.

On your high res problem I haven't figured it out... I'll add the highres hdmi 'modeline' you posted to the resswitch script to see if using it as an alternate works for your monitor if you like, but you're better off playing the games in low res if that works as most of them were made for low res CRTs.

bash64
Contributing Member
Contributing Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2022 6:40 am

Re: ARpiCADE 4.3 (for RPi4)

Post by bash64 » Tue Mar 29, 2022 7:43 am

will check the 4.3.1 update
will unplug all usb joys and test
i am fine with 480i and rebooting if it goes black screen on me
i beat it tonight on the first man

bash64
Contributing Member
Contributing Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2022 6:40 am

Re: ARpiCADE 4.3 (for RPi4)

Post by bash64 » Tue Mar 29, 2022 1:58 pm

got it all working now.
had to add some udev rules for the usb joysticks to move them out of the way
all 4 joys up except one which needs a new wire harness which i have here

joystick 1 now shows up as js0 so daphne is happy and Dragons Lair works.
even ms pacman can see all the joys

games that ran like crap but work now include:
star wars
marble madness
heavy barrel and other commando type games
still want killer instinct but waiting for a fix or instructions

this project is mostly over
still want to get capcom games working
i will attach pics

bash64
Contributing Member
Contributing Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2022 6:40 am

Re: ARpiCADE 4.3 (for RPi4)

Post by bash64 » Tue Mar 29, 2022 2:14 pm


Post Reply