Arpicade V3.83

Latest on ARpiCADE new releases, release notes, and history of previous versions.

Moderator: dee2eR

dee2eR
Inventor
Inventor
Posts: 1160
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:07 pm

Re: Arpicade V3.83

Post by dee2eR » Sun Dec 02, 2018 1:09 am

I didn't rename any files. The enhanced versions should be using the original framefiles. ie. 'dle11.zip' will use the 'lair' framefiles.

The one thing I've just noticed checking this out is I forgot to update the file /home/pi/.advance/daphne.lst (the enhanced versions are in there but they do not have anything to point out they're the enhanced versions - if you want that edit the descriptions). Also the newest version of dle in the file is dle20 so you may want to add dle21, eg.
game (
name dle21
description "Dragon's Lair - Enhanced v2.1"
year 1983
manufacturer "Cinematronics"
)
Not sure what is going wrong when you've tried them but hopefully that helps.

EDIT:
for me at least dle2.1 seems to be a bit buggy compared to dle1.1

dee2eR
Inventor
Inventor
Posts: 1160
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:07 pm

Re: Arpicade V3.83

Post by dee2eR » Sun Dec 02, 2018 6:05 am

I've officially found the limit of the RPi3A+s half ram. With the stock ARpiCADE ram split it cannot boot Vimana with the almost 200MB sample file. Hardly surprising as the stock split is giving half the already limited ram of the A+ to the video chip. I didn't try playing with the ram split, you could probably make it work at the expense of some of the fancier Attract-Mode themes.

Attempting to unzip 200MB of samples with 256MB of ram available to the CPU = return to menu...

guntherm
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2018 8:58 am

Re: Arpicade V3.83

Post by guntherm » Mon Dec 03, 2018 8:41 am

3.83:

1. Notice since going to 3.83 none of the Themes go a page ahead or back. All joystick movements go 1 forward or 1 backwards. Was this mass changed somewhere?

2. No attempts to ssh into PI via command line works? Yes I know the ip address. I can view the PI via Filezilla but can't do anything because of user PI's rights. (what's the root user password on the stock ARpiCade?)

3. Again since I am have a cabinet, all games are set for upright. I changed home/pi/.advance/advmame.rc (&advmame.nosdl.rc) to have input_dipswitch[cabinet] cocktail, but what about all others? I see mame.ini but that doesn't have anything like that..

dee2eR
Inventor
Inventor
Posts: 1160
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:07 pm

Re: Arpicade V3.83

Post by dee2eR » Mon Dec 03, 2018 10:28 am

1. I changed the input for that in the Attract-Mode controls menu due to some themes using left/right menus. It can be changed back in Attracts menus. Change the page forward etc options found a little bit down the list and not the left right up down as they also navigate the menus and things get very confusing when you change them.

2. not my specialty but the root password will be whatever Raspbian uses by default, I haven't changed it (I don't think there actually is one by default). This may help https://raspberrypi.stackexchange.com/q ... t-password

3. unfortunately except for AdvMAME there's not universal options for cocktail mode in MAME. If you already have the emulators configed on another build you can copy their cfg/ folder to the new build (I've only done it with 172 but it works...) and that should have them set right.

guntherm
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2018 8:58 am

Re: Arpicade V3.83

Post by guntherm » Wed Dec 05, 2018 12:05 pm

dee2eR wrote:
Mon Dec 03, 2018 10:28 am

2. not my specialty but the root password will be whatever Raspbian uses by default, I haven't changed it (I don't think there actually is one by default). This may help https://raspberrypi.stackexchange.com/q ... t-password
Thanx. Weird never getting anything with 3.83 except for read on using STP, on the PI.3B+.

FastyMcNasty
Community Member
Community Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2018 3:47 am

Re: Arpicade V3.83

Post by FastyMcNasty » Mon Dec 17, 2018 7:51 pm

I haven't had any luck turning off the automatic scan on boot-up. The run.sh file has this bit:

## Scan arcade games for Attract-Mode list
# NOTE: noPornRoms is the same as sortRoms with an extra no porn games array, only use sortRoms OR noPornRoms, NOT BOTH.
#bash /home/pi/.attract/sortRoms.sh
#bash /home/pi/.attract/noPornRoms.sh

## Scan console games for Attract-Mode list
#bash /home/pi/.attract/sortRomsConsoles.sh

## Combine gamelists into all games list for Attract-Mode
#bash /boot/launchers/servMenu.sh carccons


Based on what I'm seeing in previous threads, this should be correct. I also tested removing the hash for the last 3 bash commands, but that caused an even longer scan.

dee2eR
Inventor
Inventor
Posts: 1160
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:07 pm

Re: Arpicade V3.83

Post by dee2eR » Tue Dec 18, 2018 12:59 am

To turn off the romscanner on 3.83 there's only one line to comment out in run.sh:
## Scan roms for Attract-Mode list
## accepts 1 command 'all' 'arcade' 'console' 'acnoporn' or 'allnoporn'
#bash /boot/launchers/scanRoms.sh all 2> /dev/null
All the older methods are depreciated, I should probably have just removed them from the file... They should already be commented out though:
#### DEPRECIATED:
## Scan arcade games for Attract-Mode list
# NOTE: noPornRoms is the same as sortRoms with an extra no porn games array, only use sortRoms OR noPornRoms, NOT BOTH.
#bash /home/pi/.attract/sortRoms.sh
#bash /home/pi/.attract/noPornRoms.sh

## Scan console games for Attract-Mode list
#bash /home/pi/.attract/sortRomsConsoles.sh

## Combine gamelists into all games list for Attract-Mode
#bash /boot/launchers/servMenu.sh carccons

FastyMcNasty
Community Member
Community Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2018 3:47 am

Re: Arpicade V3.83

Post by FastyMcNasty » Thu Dec 20, 2018 2:04 pm

Thanks!
dee2eR wrote:
Mon Dec 03, 2018 10:28 am
1. I changed the input for that in the Attract-Mode controls menu due to some themes using left/right menus. It can be changed back in Attracts menus. Change the page forward etc options found a little bit down the list and not the left right up down as they also navigate the menus and things get very confusing when you change them.
I assume the option for this is "Next Page" and "Previous Page"? Whenever I change these and reboot, nothing happens even though the option has saved. Left/Right still only move 1 game.

dee2eR
Inventor
Inventor
Posts: 1160
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:07 pm

Re: Arpicade V3.83

Post by dee2eR » Fri Dec 21, 2018 3:06 am

I just tested it and it works fine for me, before or after a reboot from the service menu.

Are you changing it in the Attract-Mode built in menus or directly in the Attract-Mode config file?

"Next Page" etc are the right choices, if you do it in Attract-Modes built in menus ('test' on cab or 'tab' on keyboard while the game selection menu is running) it should automatically change the conflicting next game/ previous game settings (and will ask you to confirm). If you did it manually in the config file you may need to fix the conflicts manually too. No reboot is necessary to have the changes work when done from the menus.

FastyMcNasty
Community Member
Community Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2018 3:47 am

Re: Arpicade V3.83

Post by FastyMcNasty » Fri Dec 21, 2018 4:02 pm

So apparently I was making the change in the wrong Attract Mode menu. I should have just been pressing Tab at the game list. I was pressing F4 to get to the service menu, then pressed Esc followed by an arrow key (I assume any buttons works), and taken to another Attract Mode menu that can have separate controls (just not sure what it actually controls since it wasn't working).

Thanks!

Post Reply