Games not loading in AdvMAME

General chit-chat about what's hot and not in the land of emulated video games.

Moderator: dee2eR

triggerhappy
Super Contributor
Super Contributor

Games not loading in AdvMAME

Post by triggerhappy » Sun Oct 11, 2020 6:32 pm

I have noticed that a handful of arcade ROMs will not launch successfully from the Attract-Mode menu, all of which are running under MAME 0.106. These include:
  • Gauntlet (2 Players, rev 6)
  • Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles - Turtles in Time (2 Players ver UDA)
  • The Simpsons (2 Players)
It's not clear whether the culprit is the same in each case, but they all behave pretty much the same way: basically, the screen goes black for a moment, suggesting the game is loading, then it immediately returns to the Attract-Mode menu.

Being a newbie, I'm not sure where to check for debugging info that might shed some light on the problem. Does anybody know what might be going on, and more generally, how can I see the error output for failed ROM loads?

dee2eR
Inventor
Inventor

Re: Games not loading in AdvMAME

Post by dee2eR » Sun Oct 11, 2020 10:29 pm

Have you got the parent roms for each of those games? Those games are each the clone of the 4 player versions (depending on how your roms have been organised may or may not be the issue).

triggerhappy
Super Contributor
Super Contributor

Post by triggerhappy » Sun Oct 11, 2020 10:44 pm

Good question... Not sure. Where are the parent ROM files supposed to be located?

dee2eR
Inventor
Inventor

Post by dee2eR » Mon Oct 12, 2020 12:22 am

Just in the rom folders with the other roms. They maybe hidden in the menu due to the romscanner script (I know I had the four player versions hidden on 2 player software at some point).

triggerhappy
Super Contributor
Super Contributor

Post by triggerhappy » Mon Oct 12, 2020 2:31 pm