Cannot get trackball to work

Questions about the RaspberryJAMMA adapter.

Moderator: dee2eR

Birdman
Community Member
Community Member

Cannot get trackball to work

Post by Birdman » Thu Jan 30, 2020 9:31 pm

Hello,

Noob here.

A week ago I purchased an ARPICADE RASPBERRY PI MULTICADE JAMMA PCB ADAPTOR FOR ARCADE MULTIGAME from HighScoreSaves and I am using a Raspberry Pi 3 b+ setup.

For the life of me I cannot get my trackball to work. I have 2 different lighted trackballs from here:
1) https://www.diyretroarcade.com/index.ph ... ry-pi.html
2) https://www.diyretroarcade.com/index.ph ... mma-1.html

For 1, I am using a PS/2 to USB converter and plugging it into a USB on my pi 3 b+
For 2, I plugged it into what looks like a trackball connector on the Multicade jamma board

I am only using power through the JAMMA board connectors.

Is there something I am doing wrong? Do I need an extra supply to the RPI? Is the connecor on the Muilticade board for a trackball? Why isn't any of my USB ports working? Does it matter if I use the mouse or the keyboard cables on the PS/2 to USB adapter?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

~Birdman

dee2eR
Inventor
Inventor

Re: Cannot get trackball to work

Post by dee2eR » Thu Jan 30, 2020 11:08 pm

Unfortunately I have no experience with that style of trackball so my advice may not be 100% accurate...

The second one, with the 6 pin (?) connector - I take it you're trying to plug this one into the RaspberryJAMMA kick harness header, that won't work - that header is just wired for buttons, not trackballs.