Kick Harness Issues

Installing ARpiCADE for the first time? Having issues? Check here first for solutions and tips on installing.

Moderator: dee2eR

Post Reply
sandman2k16
Community Member
Community Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2019 1:21 am

Kick Harness Issues

Post by sandman2k16 » Wed Jul 24, 2019 3:54 pm

I'd previously been running CPS3 in my cabinet with the appropriate kick harness but decided to get an ARpiCADE. For reference, the control panel is 2 player with 6 buttons per player and the CP came pre-wired. All I had to do was plug the harness into the pcb port and the other side to the I/O board and that was that. For the ARpiCADE, I ordered the kick harness with it and am a bit lost. I assumed I'd just need to remove the connections for buttons 4-6 and applicable ground connections for each player and connect the kick harness according to the pin out provided. I'm having no luck however.

Pressing 4-6 on either side does nothing, but pressing 5 and 6 together works and 4 and 6 together (if memory serves). Connections seem fine. Grounds are daisy chained to each other (meaning to the other kick buttons) but not to the existing wiring for the CP (i.e. buttons 1-3, 1p/2p select, 2x sticks), and not sure how I could without splicing something the way it came pre-wired...or if that's even needed. I've changed the dip switches to every configuration possible and nothing works, though it's worth noting that the scenario with simultaneous button presses resulting in actions happens only when I have 1 and 2 off and 3 and 4 on (again, if memory serves). I can take pics and upload later and verify all this, but wanted to post in case I was approaching this entirely wrong or if there's one small thing I can tweak to fix it. I'm not familiar with wiring, splicing, etc. at all really, so hopefully there's a plug-and-play fix for this mess lol.

dee2eR
Inventor
Inventor
Posts: 909
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:07 pm

Re: Kick Harness Issues

Post by dee2eR » Wed Jul 24, 2019 10:43 pm

I'm not sure about your pre-built harness however there's a bunch of kick harness related talk in this thread: viewtopic.php?f=18&t=30

Needing b6 held down for the others to work sounds like you may have the dipswitches on the RaspberryJAMMA configured wrongly for your setup. You will want 1 and 2 on with 3 and 4 off.

Are all the button GNDs under the control panel connected together? It's possible with your CPS3 the kick harness was using it's own GNDs to 4, 5, and 6. Connecting all the GNDs under your panel together won't effect CPS3 if you happen to want to swap between the 2 systems.

sandman2k16
Community Member
Community Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2019 1:21 am

Re: Kick Harness Issues

Post by sandman2k16 » Thu Jul 25, 2019 2:12 am

Still not there. So, pics of the daisy chained white wire is the grounds from the pre-wired cp harness. The pick of the black wire is the daisy chained grounds from the kick harness for the Arpicade. Since they have different connectors, I can’t run them together. Dip switches (pic provided) look correct at least...I think. Am I going to have to splice one or more of the unused cp grounds to one or more of those remaining from the kick harness? Sorry, I’m sure my terminology here is garbage.
Attachments
D6ED21DE-D86A-49B7-B91E-B84FD1DBB83B.jpeg
D6ED21DE-D86A-49B7-B91E-B84FD1DBB83B.jpeg (31.51 KiB) Viewed 555 times
3D6FEDC9-1CBC-4B12-BD60-0EA80850AA45.jpeg
3D6FEDC9-1CBC-4B12-BD60-0EA80850AA45.jpeg (50.96 KiB) Viewed 555 times
9747C732-73EF-4019-AA31-0D0C54BE5636.jpeg
9747C732-73EF-4019-AA31-0D0C54BE5636.jpeg (44.3 KiB) Viewed 555 times

sandman2k16
Community Member
Community Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2019 1:21 am

Re: Kick Harness Issues

Post by sandman2k16 » Thu Jul 25, 2019 2:14 am

Attached.
Attachments
0ECCB7C4-8413-4584-976D-637524D3CBE7.jpeg
0ECCB7C4-8413-4584-976D-637524D3CBE7.jpeg (55.38 KiB) Viewed 555 times

dee2eR
Inventor
Inventor
Posts: 909
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:07 pm

Re: Kick Harness Issues

Post by dee2eR » Thu Jul 25, 2019 3:02 am

When you say kick harness ground what is the ground actually connected to? There's no ground connection on the RJ kick harness. It should be connected to the rest of the button grounds.

sandman2k16
Community Member
Community Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2019 1:21 am

Re: Kick Harness Issues

Post by sandman2k16 » Thu Jul 25, 2019 5:19 pm

Technically connected to nothing. It's just bound together with the rest of the harness wiring. So, assuming all the buttons for p1/p2 1-3 are already chained together, I just need to make a single connection from that chain to the chain for buttons 4-6? I guess I just don't get where/how I need to connect the two individual strings of grounds together and if it needs more than one point of intersection, if that makes sense.

dee2eR
Inventor
Inventor
Posts: 909
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:07 pm

Re: Kick Harness Issues

Post by dee2eR » Fri Jul 26, 2019 12:33 am

if you connect the 2 strings of grounds together so they become one big daisy chain it should fix it up for you, I think. 1 connection between the 2 should be fine, it doesn't matter if you join together ends and make it like a long snake or join in a different place along the length making more of a 'y' shaped cable, either should work.

sandman2k16
Community Member
Community Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2019 1:21 am

Re: Kick Harness Issues

Post by sandman2k16 » Fri Jul 26, 2019 5:10 pm

Thanks for all the help, this ended up working out nicely for me! Cheers.

hummingb
Community Member
Community Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2019 1:25 pm

Re: Kick Harness Issues

Post by hummingb » Sun Aug 04, 2019 1:35 pm

It should be connected to the rest of the button grounds

Regards

Post Reply