Completely confused - Galaga menu

Installing ARpiCADE for the first time? Having issues? Check here first for solutions and tips on installing.

Moderator: dee2eR

Birdman
Community Member
Community Member

Completely confused - Galaga menu

Post by Birdman » Fri Jan 31, 2020 4:23 pm

Hello,

Again a noob here.

My Setup:
1) Sorry, I don't know which file to look at to know what build I have of software, but I just received it a week ago, so I'm pretty sure my ARPICADE build is the most recent
2) I purchased an ARPICADE RASPBERRY PI MULTICADE JAMMA PCB ADAPTOR FOR ARCADE MULTIGAME from HighScoreSaves
3) I am using a Raspberry Pi 3 b+ setup

I am trying to play Galaga and for the life of me I cannot figure out why the joystick keeps jumping me into the menu for the game settings. It isn't even a combo of Joystick and button...I literally press the joystick left and it jumps into the game menu...I cannot play the game. I've completely disabled all keyboard shortcuts in the hotkeys.ini file and it still does this.

Any clue?

BTW....is there a good reference for what keyboard strokes can be used within a game to maybe get to this menu and try to find a way to disable any method to get into the menu?

dee2eR
Inventor
Inventor

Re: Completely confused - Galaga menu

Post by dee2eR » Sat Feb 01, 2020 1:52 am

That sounds weird, not sure what would cause that. The default combo for the MAME menu is Start+joy right (but won't work if you deleted all the hotkeys), keyboard 'tab' should also work. Is that the menu opening when you press left?

If it's only happening in the one game it could possibly be fixed in that same menu, but it's hard to say not knowing what has happened.

Moving Galaga to a different version of MAME may also 'fix' it, not knowing what has gone wrong.

The basic default hotkey shortcuts and other basic instructions can be found in the USER_GUIDE folder, if you haven't already had a look at them they maybe worth a look too.

Birdman
Community Member