Setup help

Installing ARpiCADE for the first time? Having issues? Check here first for solutions and tips on installing.

Moderator: dee2eR

Pepsikrazy
Community Member
Community Member

Setup help

Post by Pepsikrazy » Thu Nov 25, 2021 1:46 pm

Hello i am very new to this arcade building, and recently purchased the Hi-Res arpicade unit. Please forgive me now as i am sure i have either forgotten to do something or missing something obvious. I recently built a 2 player 6 button cabinet for this Arpicade unit. As well i had a friend load a raspberry pi4 with an image and roms i installed. I have tested the unit on my tv with a controller and keyboard with no issues. I installed the arpicade and pi in my cabinet, it fires up, the image is on the screen but can not get the arpicade to recognize the buttons and joystick. I tested another board in the cabinet to make sure my wiring was good, and everything worked as it should. As i mentioned, i am sure i am forgetting something. Please forgive me as I am not very computer smart, but i am trying to understand. Any help to get me to understand what i did wrong is very much appreciated!!

dee2eR
Inventor
Inventor

Re: Setup help

Post by dee2eR » Mon Nov 29, 2021 4:49 am

What is the image your friend set up for you? Is it actually setup for use with the RaspberryJAMMA hardware?

You may need to install mk_arcade_joystick_rpi or similar GPIO joystick driver for the inputs to work on software not presetup for RaspberryJAMMA by default.

Your other option, of course, would be to use ARpiCADE as the software as it is pre-setup for the RaspberryJAMMA hardware. For high res you just need to adjust config.txt prior to use. Not knowing the details I suspect most, if not all, stuff setup on the other image could be copied over.

Pepsikrazy
Community Member
Community Member

Post by Pepsikrazy » Mon Nov 29, 2021 6:39 pm