Buttons setup not working correctly

Installing ARpiCADE for the first time? Having issues? Check here first for solutions and tips on installing.

Moderator: dee2eR

Post Reply
goncalomplsilva
Community Member
Community Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2021 10:55 am

Buttons setup not working correctly

Post by goncalomplsilva » Wed Dec 29, 2021 11:26 am

Hi there,
I’m very new to all this and I recently bought a ARpicade to install in my cabinet. All seems very easy to plug and play but now when I’m using the buttons they have inconsistent behaviour and all the player 1 buttons stopped working (player 1 set buttons and joystick and player button). I will attach some images of my setup. Any suggestions are more than welcome.



Thank you

0DB70175-CA7B-4B0F-BD5A-7AC7C957118C.jpeg
0DB70175-CA7B-4B0F-BD5A-7AC7C957118C.jpeg (69.74 KiB) Viewed 754 times
Image
Attachments
CC75D9F1-1540-46E8-BF5C-3A92E135D5DA.jpeg
CC75D9F1-1540-46E8-BF5C-3A92E135D5DA.jpeg (121.45 KiB) Viewed 754 times
18C316CB-4615-401D-A164-10484C6A5C44.jpeg
18C316CB-4615-401D-A164-10484C6A5C44.jpeg (94.33 KiB) Viewed 754 times

goncalomplsilva
Community Member
Community Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2021 10:55 am

Re: Buttons setup not working correctly

Post by goncalomplsilva » Wed Dec 29, 2021 11:27 am

Extra image
Attachments
F589B194-B60E-4FEB-A4D8-CC1C3061670B.jpeg
F589B194-B60E-4FEB-A4D8-CC1C3061670B.jpeg (108.66 KiB) Viewed 753 times

dee2eR
Inventor
Inventor
Posts: 1669
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:07 pm

Re: Buttons setup not working correctly

Post by dee2eR » Wed Dec 29, 2021 12:34 pm

I can't see them in your photos but for your setup you will want the dipswitches on the RaspberryJAMMA set 1&2 ON, 3&4 off, if you don't already. That may or may not help, depending on the wiring.

Nothing seems wrong in the pictures. When you say inconsistant behaviour and player 1 stopped was it all working to begin with?

Also, what is your 5v voltage set to? You'l want about 5.1v at the JAMMA connector with the board attached. Recently there was a report of control issues that turned out to be low voltage, although I have not seen that happen myself.

I'm sure we can figure it out. Although I'm not sure exactly what is causing the problem at the moment.

goncalomplsilva
Community Member
Community Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2021 10:55 am

Re: Buttons setup not working correctly

Post by goncalomplsilva » Wed Dec 29, 2021 8:56 pm

I just had a go with the voltage and seems to be alright.
Currently I cannot use up joystick P1, left joystick P1, P1 player button and the 3rd and 4th button on the panel.
Do you think it could be the actual switches that are attached to the joystick and buttons?

dee2eR
Inventor
Inventor
Posts: 1669
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:07 pm

Re: Buttons setup not working correctly

Post by dee2eR » Sat Jan 01, 2022 3:27 am

If they're the original switches and you haven't used the cab with any other games it is possible they're old and failing switches. If that's the case you're going to have a better experience with nice new micro switches in the buttons and sticks anyway.

You could test the inputs on the suspect micro switches by unplugging one of the wires to the switch and touching it to the other wire going to the same switch. If it works touching the wires directly butnot through the switch it is definately the switch at fault.

If you enter SF2 service menu (cab test switch or keyboard f2 while the game is running) there's a input test screen you could use while testing the buttons. Or you can test them on the linux command line by exiting all menus with f4 and at the command line typing:
jstest /dev/input/js0
to test player 1 inputs, ctrl+c when finished testing and type:
sudo reboot
to reboot back to the menu.

Post Reply