Kick Harness Question

Installing ARpiCADE for the first time? Having issues? Check here first for solutions and tips on installing.

Moderator: dee2eR

Moosh_da_moosh
Community Member
Community Member

Kick Harness Question

Post by Moosh_da_moosh » Thu May 10, 2018 10:15 pm

Hi. I need help getting my kick buttons to work with my ArPiCade on my New Astro City cab.

I'm pretty new to Arcade stuff and esp stuff related to the ArPiCade. I have one all set up in my NAC. Everything works great!!! Except my kick buttons..... I know the buttons worked because I tested them by connecting them to the standard Jamma harness for the punch buttons. I had a really cool guy (Lemony Vengence) make me some new wires for all of my buttons and joysticks. He also made a cable that I connected to my harness that doesn't connect to anything else.

My assumption is that one end goes to my harness and the other to my PCB. Well there isn't anywhere to connect that on the Pi.

Either way, I connected everything and messed around with the pin out. Nothing made the kick buttons work.

Then I found this thread https://arpicade.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=30 that talks about connecting the kick harness directly to the Pi.

I imagine that's what this little connector that came with my ArPiCade is for.

I messaged the guy in that thread who made his own cable to go from Jamma harness straight to the Pi and he mentioned that since there's only pins for 6 buttons, if i wanted to make my own, i'd need to connect it to the existing ground.

Is connecting directly to the Pi the only way to make the kick buttons to work?

I also noticed that one of the pins on my harness was ripped out. I am pretty sure this was for one of the extra buttons (I checked a diagram and determined it was for button 5).

Any help would be appreciated.

dee2eR
Inventor
Inventor

Re: Kick Harness Question

Post by dee2eR » Fri May 11, 2018 12:55 am