Layout To Load Other Layouts

Questions and tweaks for Attract-Mode on ARpiCADE.

Moderator: dee2eR

Post Reply
User avatar
FrizzleFried
Legendary Contributor
Legendary Contributor
Posts: 264
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:35 pm
Location: Idaho
Contact:

Layout To Load Other Layouts

Post by FrizzleFried » Tue Jan 29, 2019 10:44 pm

I'm looking in to how to code a layout to load other layouts. For example, I'd love to have a "main" layout which lists things like:

Galaga collection
Pac collection
Trackball collection
Irem collection
CPS2 collection
etc...

...and when you select each of those have it load the proper custom layout I've already created for each... then of course I would need to be able to exit back to the main layout from each of these separate layouts.

I don't want to mess with my romlists, so using the category function won't work for me.

I already have the system setup to jump to each layout on a button press, but I want to make a custom layout with selectible options on screen to do the same thing essentially...

Something similar to what this setup does (using different software)...

https://vimeo.com/282042530
Visit my arcade blog ... www.idahogaragecade.com (Updated: 04/05/19)

guntherm
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2018 8:58 am

Re: Layout To Load Other Layouts

Post by guntherm » Wed Jan 30, 2019 8:08 am

Pretty slick.. but all I have seen goes to using categories myself...

Getting it done without would be pretty cool

dee2eR
Inventor
Inventor
Posts: 715
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:07 pm

Re: Layout To Load Other Layouts

Post by dee2eR » Wed Jan 30, 2019 12:06 pm

I think what you want to do can be done in a similar way to how the default setup is on the most recent versions of ARpiCADE. Check out the layout unified-displaymenu, it's the only theme I'm aware of for this in Attract-Mode (although that doesn't mean there arn't others).

User avatar
FrizzleFried
Legendary Contributor
Legendary Contributor
Posts: 264
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:35 pm
Location: Idaho
Contact:

Re: Layout To Load Other Layouts

Post by FrizzleFried » Wed Jan 30, 2019 2:54 pm

dee2eR wrote:
Wed Jan 30, 2019 12:06 pm
I think what you want to do can be done in a similar way to how the default setup is on the most recent versions of ARpiCADE. Check out the layout unified-displaymenu, it's the only theme I'm aware of for this in Attract-Mode (although that doesn't mean there arn't others).
Where do I find this UNIFIED-DISPLAYMENU layout?
Visit my arcade blog ... www.idahogaragecade.com (Updated: 04/05/19)

guntherm
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2018 8:58 am

Re: Layout To Load Other Layouts

Post by guntherm » Thu Jan 31, 2019 7:20 am

/boot/attract-layouts/unified-displaymenu

User avatar
FrizzleFried
Legendary Contributor
Legendary Contributor
Posts: 264
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:35 pm
Location: Idaho
Contact:

Re: Layout To Load Other Layouts

Post by FrizzleFried » Thu Jan 31, 2019 3:44 pm

I'm using a PC install hence the reason I didn't find it... though I did manage to find it on the attract mode forum. Thanks though.

Honestly though... I think I am going to pass on this idea simply because of all the extra crap I'd have to get people to do to their builds to get it to work right if they wanted to. It wouldn't be plug n play essentially... at least not with my skillset (nearly non-existent).

I'll probably go back to skinning the SDArcade layout...
Visit my arcade blog ... www.idahogaragecade.com (Updated: 04/05/19)

guntherm
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2018 8:58 am

Re: Layout To Load Other Layouts

Post by guntherm » Fri Feb 01, 2019 7:48 am

FrizzleFried wrote:
Thu Jan 31, 2019 3:44 pm
I'm using a PC install hence the reason I didn't find it... though I did manage to find it on the attract mode forum. Thanks though.

Honestly though... I think I am going to pass on this idea simply because of all the extra crap I'd have to get people to do to their builds to get it to work right if they wanted to. It wouldn't be plug n play essentially... at least not with my skillset (nearly non-existent).

I'll probably go back to skinning the SDArcade layout...
Very cool idea though!!!

Post Reply