Page 2 of 2

Re: Changing the order of Roms in attract mode

Posted: Sat Mar 09, 2019 12:56 am
by ShaneHero
#! /bin/bash

# Setup dispmanx for clean AdvMAME & Daphne video output this version of SDL is modified to output for
# correct scanline output at 240p
export SDL_DISPMANX_IGNORE_RATIO=1
clear

# Now loading message
/boot/nowloadn.sh

# Start hotkeys
hotkeys start

# If you want to auto load a game put it here
#/boot/launchers/mame078.sh nbajam >/dev/null 2>&1

## Scan roms for Attract-Mode list
## accepts 1 command 'all' 'arcade' 'console' 'acnoporn' or 'allnoporn'
#bash /boot/launchers/scanRoms.sh all 2> /dev/null

#### DEPRECIATED:
## Scan arcade games for Attract-Mode list
# NOTE: noPornRoms is the same as sortRoms with an extra no porn games array, only use sortRoms OR noPornRoms, NOT BOTH.
#bash /home/pi/.attract/sortRoms.sh
#bash /home/pi/.attract/noPornRoms.sh

## Scan console games for Attract-Mode list
#bash /home/pi/.attract/sortRomsConsoles.sh

## Combine gamelists into all games list for Attract-Mode
#bash /boot/launchers/servMenu.sh carccons

# Bugfix for SDL2.0 keyboard input to terminal bug for a cleaner Attract-Mode
stty -echo

# Launch Attact-Mode (games)
attract >/dev/null 2>&1

# Launch Attact-Mode (service menu)
attract -c /home/pi/.attractsm/ >/dev/null 2>&1

# Restore terminal keyboard output for a usable terminal
stty sane

## AdvanceMenu frontend
# If you want to use AdvanceMenu disable all romscanning scripts as they are not used by AdvanceMenu
# Launch advmenu
#/home/pi/.advance/advmenu >/dev/null 2>&1

Re: Changing the order of Roms in attract mode

Posted: Sat Mar 09, 2019 12:56 am
by ShaneHero
Anything in there that could be causing this?

Re: Changing the order of Roms in attract mode

Posted: Sat Mar 09, 2019 4:10 am
by ShaneHero
Ok, so it looks like the romscan is off, since if I add in a new rom it won’t appear until I turn romscan back on again.

The issue however is that the edited romlist I’m updating with notepad++ is being overwritten every time and the games are back to being in alphabetical order.

So, I’d there something else that is doing this, and how do I switch it off? Thanks!

Re: Changing the order of Roms in attract mode

Posted: Sat Mar 09, 2019 4:35 am
by dee2eR
Are you sure the list you're editing is the list you're looking at in the menu? If you edit the arcade list but are looking at the all games list you wouldn't see your edits... or vice versa....

The rom scanner is definately off. Nothing else will overwrite the rom lists automatically.

The only other thing I can think of is maybe the changes you're making in Notepad++ are not being written to the SD card properly. Are you safely removing/ejecting/unmounting the SD card before pulling it from the PC?

Re: Changing the order of Roms in attract mode

Posted: Sat Mar 09, 2019 6:08 am
by ShaneHero
You were right, the issue was coming from the lists not saving properly, not the pi overwriting one romscan was turned off. Not sure what I did, but I’ve finally got them saving correctly and my new list looks fantastic!

Thanks for all the help solving this one guys!!

Re: Changing the order of Roms in attract mode

Posted: Mon Oct 07, 2019 5:46 pm
by cool_factor
well, now mine is doing it. Wont allow moving or editing of allgames.txt using notepad++

Heres my run.sh

#! /bin/bash

## Setup dispmanx for SDL1.2
export SDL_DISPMANX_IGNORE_RATIO=1
clear

## Now loading message
/boot/nowloadn.sh

## Start hotkeys
hotkeys start

## If you want to auto load a game put it here
/boot/launchers/mame172.sh galagamf >/dev/null 2>&1

## Scan roms for Attract-Mode list
## accepts 1 command 'all' 'arcade' 'console' 'acnoporn' or 'allnoporn'
#bash /boot/launchers/ScanRoms_V007.sh allnoporn >/dev/null 2>&1

## Bugfix for SDL2.0 keyboard input to terminal bug for a cleaner Attract-Mode
stty -echo

## Launch Attact-Mode (games list)
attract >/dev/null 2>&1

## Launch Attact-Mode again (service menu)
attract -c /home/pi/.attractsm/ >/dev/null 2>&1

## Restore terminal keyboard output for a usable terminal
stty sane

## AdvanceMenu frontend
## NOTE: AdvMenu is now considered depreciated so the config file is out of date, some config will be required to use AdvMenu
## If you want to use AdvanceMenu disable all romscanning scripts as they are not used by AdvanceMenu
#/home/pi/.advance/advmenu >/dev/null 2>&1

Re: Changing the order of Roms in attract mode

Posted: Tue Oct 08, 2019 10:53 pm
by dee2eR
@cool_factor
I don't think run.sh will be your issue. What is happening when you try to edit the rom lists using Notepad++?

In case it helps there are some other ways you could edit the romlists on the Pi. If it's just one title to edit pressing 'e' on a keyboard while the game is high lighted in the game list will let you edit that game entry while the system is running (but I don't think it will adjust the order). You could also use Nano text editor on the Pi to edit the rom lists directly, either from the command line or from the Midnight Commander file browser.

Re: Changing the order of Roms in attract mode

Posted: Wed Oct 09, 2019 12:27 am
by cool_factor
What I've noticed is when making changes to allgames.txt using notepad ++ is that the date never changes. If I put a back up allgames.txt file (delete and replace) the date changes....until i eject the sdcard... When reloaded the file reverts back to the other files contents and date, almost like it's in read only mode but as far as I can tell it isn't. Hope this makes sense....

Re: Changing the order of Roms in attract mode

Posted: Wed Oct 09, 2019 12:37 am
by dee2eR
Are you safely removing/ejecting/unmounting the SD card in software before unplugging it from your desktop? That's the main thing I can think of that could cause that to happen. It just sounds like the changes aren't being finalised on the SD card.

Unless there's some issue with [whatever software you're using to allow Windows to see the second partition] (?) that I'm unaware of.

Re: Changing the order of Roms in attract mode

Posted: Wed Oct 09, 2019 10:50 am
by cool_factor
Yes to all, only new equation is I've got a new pc still running wndows10, same software as before. I'm going to fire up the old pc and try it. If it works then I'll know it's a Windows issue, if not, I don't know.