SDArcade V2.1

Questions and tweaks for Attract-Mode on ARpiCADE.

Moderator: dee2eR

User avatar
FrizzleFried
Legendary Contributor
Legendary Contributor
Posts: 277
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:35 pm
Location: Idaho
Contact:

Re: SDArcade V2.1

Post by FrizzleFried » Wed Dec 05, 2018 2:24 pm

Hmmmm......

Very odd. It works here on both my PC and my ARpiCADE...

I will double check this morning by extracting the ZIP file to see if something happened in the zip process...
Visit my arcade blog ... www.idahogaragecade.com (Updated: 06/27/19)

User avatar
FrizzleFried
Legendary Contributor
Legendary Contributor
Posts: 277
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:35 pm
Location: Idaho
Contact:

Re: SDArcade V2.1

Post by FrizzleFried » Wed Dec 05, 2018 2:35 pm

Hmmm... I just unzipped on to a miniSD card that I'd not had this layout on. It installed fine and it's working on the cabinet.

Make sure you are extracting to the attract-layouts folder... the layout.nut file (along with a few other files) should be in the first folder that is created in the attract-layouts folder (titled SDarcadeMod_v2.3). Lets say you extract as "SDARCADE" inside your attract-layouts folder... you will find that there is an extra folder there... called SDARCADE... with SDarcadeMod_v2.3 within that folder... that won't work. The SDarcadeMod_v2.3 folder is where the nut file is contained (along with other files and folders of course).
Visit my arcade blog ... www.idahogaragecade.com (Updated: 06/27/19)

User avatar
FrizzleFried
Legendary Contributor
Legendary Contributor
Posts: 277
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:35 pm
Location: Idaho
Contact:

Re: SDArcade V2.1

Post by FrizzleFried » Wed Dec 05, 2018 5:16 pm

Anyone else having issues?
Visit my arcade blog ... www.idahogaragecade.com (Updated: 06/27/19)

cool_factor
Legendary Contributor
Legendary Contributor
Posts: 164
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 10:55 am

Re: SDArcade V2.3

Post by cool_factor » Wed Dec 05, 2018 6:03 pm

verified. installed it the same way as v2.2

User avatar
FrizzleFried
Legendary Contributor
Legendary Contributor
Posts: 277
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:35 pm
Location: Idaho
Contact:

Re: SDArcade V2.1

Post by FrizzleFried » Wed Dec 05, 2018 6:46 pm

I am really at a loss as to what the problem could be... I've taken that exact ZIP file, extracted it to a miniSD that didn't have it it before... then tested that miniSD in the ARpiCADE and it works as intended.

I'll try installing it on my vertical cabinet (been testing on my horizontal, but HAVE tested vertical mode).
Visit my arcade blog ... www.idahogaragecade.com (Updated: 06/27/19)

User avatar
FrizzleFried
Legendary Contributor
Legendary Contributor
Posts: 277
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:35 pm
Location: Idaho
Contact:

Re: SDArcade V2.1

Post by FrizzleFried » Wed Dec 05, 2018 6:57 pm

I am really TRYING to break this... unsuccessfully.

I am not sure if you can get in to the layout settings... if you can, can you post the exact layout settings you have setup?
Visit my arcade blog ... www.idahogaragecade.com (Updated: 06/27/19)

cool_factor
Legendary Contributor
Legendary Contributor
Posts: 164
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 10:55 am

Re: SDArcade V2.1

Post by cool_factor » Wed Dec 05, 2018 10:56 pm

I think something is corrupt or im doing something wrong. I tried sdarcade v2.2 and same issue. just displays missing wheel. i tried the cools theme, mentions a restart, do that and attract man theme shows, i hard rebooted from power switch. on all themes tried, same thing, goes to attract man theme. I tried restarting from within software and get a pi prompt. hard reset and loads to attract man.

this is how i installed: extracted, verified like you mentioned, its good, left at default, exited, shows missing wheel, rebooted/restarted goes to attract man theme. what steps am i missing???

cool_factor
Legendary Contributor
Legendary Contributor
Posts: 164
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 10:55 am

Re: SDArcade V2.1

Post by cool_factor » Thu Dec 06, 2018 4:09 am

OK I've reformatted and am currently transferring over all my files again. I've got v2.3 in the attract folder and its like you said it should be Frizz. Whats the step by step as far as utilizing it? Please walk me thru it in case it is actually something wrong I'm doing.... Hopefully its some step I've missed. Good night for now.

User avatar
FrizzleFried
Legendary Contributor
Legendary Contributor
Posts: 277
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 5:35 pm
Location: Idaho
Contact:

Re: SDArcade V2.1

Post by FrizzleFried » Thu Dec 06, 2018 5:37 am

If you have a working "attract man" layout going... you should simply unzip the ZIP file in to the attract-layouts folder on the BOOT drive (the windows drive). That SHOULD create a folder within at attract-layouts folder named SDarcadeMod_v2.3 ... inside that folder should be the layout.nut and a few other files plus I think 3 folders including an images folder, music folder and a scripts folder...

Once you verify that is all there... load attract mode... it will drop to your attract man layout. Hit TAB ... then choose DISPLAYS. Within the DISPLAYS menu are all the different displays your system has on it... think of displays as independent layouts... I... for example... have around a dozen displays running. One has ALL FILES... one has CAPCOM... one has DAPHNE... one has KONAMI... etc... each uses it's own layout.... but I am getting ahead of myself.

Choose the display that you are using... likely ALL FILES or maybe FAVORITES? Once you select which display you want to modify, a menu will come up... in this menu you will see a LAYOUT option... it should have the ATTRACT-MAN layout name. Select that option and then scroll/choose SDarcadeMod_v2.3... at this point you can then go down to LAYOUT OPTIONS and make changes to the actual layout... OR what you might want to do first is to just hit BACK a few times to back out to the menu to make sure that the layout changed.

If the layout doesnt change... you modified the wrong display.

I think that should do it.
Visit my arcade blog ... www.idahogaragecade.com (Updated: 06/27/19)

cool_factor
Legendary Contributor
Legendary Contributor
Posts: 164
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 10:55 am

Re: SDArcade V2.1

Post by cool_factor » Thu Dec 06, 2018 10:14 am

OK I haven't tried it yet BUT based off what you posted I did miss a step... I did everything correct with the exception of where you install... I was going to DISPLAY then v2.3 and not all games list first. So it looks like I was modifying nothing... I'll try as you posted but pretty sure it's gonna work.


UPDATE/SOLVED: I was missing the step of going to "All Games" first. Up and running.

Post Reply