Tab menu not working in MAME 037 or FBA

Questions about arcade game emulation support on the ARpiCADE (MAME, DAPHNE, Picodrive, etc...)

Moderator: dee2eR

Post Reply
User avatar
triggerhappy
Contributing Member
Contributing Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2020 11:49 pm

Tab menu not working in MAME 037 or FBA

Post by triggerhappy » Sun Nov 01, 2020 5:38 pm

I can't use the Tab key to activate the settings menu in games running under MAME 037 or FBA. How can I enable it?

Also, I'm not able to locate the folder where the default and per-game .cfg files are stored for FBA. I see the .cfg files in ~/.mame037/mame2000/cfg for MAME 037, but I don't know where to find them for FBA. :(

dee2eR
Inventor
Inventor
Posts: 1256
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:07 pm

Re: Tab menu not working in MAME 037 or FBA

Post by dee2eR » Mon Nov 02, 2020 12:36 am

FBA doesn't have a tab menu. It also doesn't use MAME style config files.

037 should have a MAME tab menu... I'll have to look into whats happening though as I don't really use 037 any more.

Are you on ARpiCADE 3.X?

User avatar
triggerhappy
Contributing Member
Contributing Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2020 11:49 pm

Re: Tab menu not working in MAME 037 or FBA

Post by triggerhappy » Mon Nov 02, 2020 4:29 pm

Yeah, still running 3.X. Was having some control mapping issues in FBA and 037, but I think I got them ironed out via the Retroarch configs. I was just wondering why Tab menus weren't working for me.

If you get a chance, let me know if the Tab menu works in 037 for you, so at least I'll know if it's something on my end.

Thanks :)

VeryApe121
Community Member
Community Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 12:51 am

Re: Tab menu not working in MAME 037 or FBA

Post by VeryApe121 » Wed Nov 18, 2020 3:20 am

Nevermind, found a post further down. F1 for the fba menu.

Were you able to figure out how to get into the fba menu? I was testing some games tonight and couldn't figure it out either. P1+down did pause it though.

Using 3.X image.

dee2eR
Inventor
Inventor
Posts: 1256
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:07 pm

Re: Tab menu not working in MAME 037 or FBA

Post by dee2eR » Thu Nov 26, 2020 5:36 am

Default shortcut for the FBA menu is start+b6

Tried Truxton in MAME0.037 and the MAME menu worked for me, both with 'tab' and 'start+joy_right'. Not sure what's happening there for you, what game(s) are you running in 037? It could be game specific.

Post Reply