Refresh or Sync problem with some games

Questions about arcade game emulation support on the ARpiCADE (MAME, DAPHNE, Picodrive, etc...)

Moderator: dee2eR

Post Reply
User avatar
MikeH482
Community Member
Community Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2022 3:43 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA USA

Refresh or Sync problem with some games

Post by MikeH482 » Thu Jul 14, 2022 3:26 am

I’ve been running into a few games that seem like they have refresh or sync issues. Most recent one I found was Capcom Bowling (capbowl). This issue seems to occur in both AdvMame106 and Mame172. I tried changing refresh in the mameinfo.txt file but it didn't solve it (or I didn’t guess the right refresh value). I’m using ArPiCade version 3.x in a vertical monitor setup, CGA monitor (EZ20). I attached a photo of what the monitor displays. Any help getting this to work properly is appreciated. Thanks!
Attachments
81F93CB9-CADE-48EF-B389-594B942B8FCB.jpeg
81F93CB9-CADE-48EF-B389-594B942B8FCB.jpeg (166.34 KiB) Viewed 6062 times

dee2eR
Inventor
Inventor
Posts: 1875
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:07 pm

Re: Refresh or Sync problem with some games

Post by dee2eR » Thu Jul 14, 2022 8:31 am

I'll check it out and get back to you.

Is it on 3.X or 4.3?

User avatar
MikeH482
Community Member
Community Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2022 3:43 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA USA

Re: Refresh or Sync problem with some games

Post by MikeH482 » Thu Jul 14, 2022 11:01 am

3.x, RasPi 3B

User avatar
MikeH482
Community Member
Community Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2022 3:43 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA USA

Re: Refresh or Sync problem with some games

Post by MikeH482 » Tue Jul 19, 2022 5:04 pm

Any idea what setting(s) I might need to adjust? Refresh rate?

dee2eR
Inventor
Inventor
Posts: 1875
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:07 pm

Re: Refresh or Sync problem with some games

Post by dee2eR » Wed Jul 20, 2022 6:55 am

It seems to be fine on my test bench, tested on MAME 0.172, ARpiCADE 3.X.1, vertical in both default low res & 240p only settings.

You may be able to adjust the sync pot(s) on your monitor chassis to sort it out, failing that I can help you adjust the res switch script so it uses something close to 57hz but not actually 57hz for 57hz games as a workaround.

Bit of a weird resolution being used by Capcom Bowling, MAME 172 reports it as 245p @ 57hz.

If you're fine with editing /boot/launchers/resSwitch.sh your self (back it up first just in case, and if you're on Windows use Notepad++) you can find these lines:
elif [ $(lessThan $r 56.90) == n ] && [ $(lessThan $r 57.20) == y ]; then
#37013862 269 2414 240 @ 57
## 1920 x 240 @ 57hz ## Joyfull Road + others exact
vcgencmd hdmi_timings 1920 1 72 202 220 240 1 6 7 16 0 0 0 57 0 37013862 1

elif [ $(lessThan $r 57.20) == n ] && [ $(lessThan $r 57.45) == y ]; then
and change them to:
# elif [ $(lessThan $r 56.90) == n ] && [ $(lessThan $r 57.20) == y ]; then
#37013862 269 2414 240 @ 57
## 1920 x 240 @ 57hz ## Joyfull Road + others exact
# vcgencmd hdmi_timings 1920 1 72 202 220 240 1 6 7 16 0 0 0 57 0 37013862 1

elif [ $(lessThan $r 56.90) == n ] && [ $(lessThan $r 57.45) == y ]; then
With these changes games using 57hz will run at 57.444855hz instead of 57hz and hopefully your issue will be fixed.

EDIT: fixed typo

User avatar
MikeH482
Community Member
Community Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2022 3:43 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA USA

Re: Refresh or Sync problem with some games

Post by MikeH482 » Wed Aug 10, 2022 2:59 pm

I tried all the above and the only thing that works is adjusting the monitor's horizontal and vertical hold pots. But then that messes up the display on all the other games that were displaying fine previously, and even the AttractMode frontend is out of sync. Not sure what else to try or maybe just have to give up on games like Capcom Bowling.

Post Reply