Tempest with a spinner

Questions about arcade game emulation support on the ARpiCADE (MAME, DAPHNE, Picodrive, etc...)

Moderator: dee2eR

Post Reply
OpSteel
Community Member
Community Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2018 8:02 pm

Tempest with a spinner

Post by OpSteel » Wed Sep 25, 2019 2:25 am

Trying to get Tempest to run on a new system I am building with a spinner. The spinner was not being picked up in 0.078 even after playing with the mame.ini file so I tried moving it to 0.172 since Tron is running fine. Made the changes, ran a full rom scan from the service menu, and now it will not load. Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

dee2eR
Inventor
Inventor
Posts: 967
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:07 pm

Re: Tempest with a spinner

Post by dee2eR » Wed Sep 25, 2019 6:04 am

It could be the wrong version of the rom for 172, if it was the right one for 078. You may just need a newer version of the rom. It's also possible Romcenter or similar rom manager can convert it using the datfiles in the USER_GUIDE folder, but I'm not sure.

OpSteel
Community Member
Community Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2018 8:02 pm

Re: Tempest with a spinner

Post by OpSteel » Thu Sep 26, 2019 12:04 am

Didn't even think about the ROM version itself changing. I'll look for a newer version. I appreciate the quick answer!

dfmassi
Community Member
Community Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 12, 2019 11:17 pm

Re: Tempest with a spinner

Post by dfmassi » Thu Jan 09, 2020 2:37 pm

Same issue. I tried everything. Finally, I pulled the USB keyboard out of the arpicade (power off first) and Tempest works with the spinner now.

Post Reply