Exit game/return to desktop

Installing ARpiCADE for the first time? Having issues? Check here first for solutions and tips on installing.

Moderator: dee2eR

Post Reply
User avatar
frostyfreeze
Community Member
Community Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2017 6:12 pm

Exit game/return to desktop

Post by frostyfreeze » Wed Jan 15, 2020 4:11 am

I used to be able to press P1+P2 to exit a game and return to the attract mode desktop, now when I do that I'm just stuck at a blank screen. Any idea what happened? I'm still using v3.7 btw. Thanksssssss

dee2eR
Inventor
Inventor
Posts: 1058
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:07 pm

Re: Exit game/return to desktop

Post by dee2eR » Sun Jan 19, 2020 1:57 am

Not sure what would be going wrong there. It could be you're accidentally exiting Attract-Mode and ending up at the terminal. Perhaps something has happened to the Attract-Mode config, although if it's starting up normally when you turn on the machine that's not that likely...

Any reason you're sticking to ARpiCADE 3.7? It's really quite old at this point, I'd recommend trying 3.9 or 3.84. The exit game shortcut has been changed to long hold (around 3 seconds) P1 start, the hotkeys were changed since 3.7. Hopefully re-imaging will also fix your issue.

User avatar
frostyfreeze
Community Member
Community Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2017 6:12 pm

Re: Exit game/return to desktop

Post by frostyfreeze » Sun Jan 19, 2020 3:03 pm

I figured it out. Looks like my card got corrupted because when I burned a new one everything worked again (always backup your images, kids!). But thanks again for your help & always prompt replies.

I haven't upgraded to 3.8 or 3.9 yet because my buddy has 3.8 and I found the boot-up and transitions in and out of games to be really slow. Maybe that was just his set-up though?

User avatar
frostyfreeze
Community Member
Community Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2017 6:12 pm

Re: Exit game/return to desktop

Post by frostyfreeze » Mon Jan 20, 2020 10:52 pm

AND I turns out I had the exact same "problem" that I solved by myself the exact same way a couple years ago! :roll: :lol:
Attachments
PhotoGrid_1579556727405.png
PhotoGrid_1579556727405.png (162.37 KiB) Viewed 415 times

Post Reply