Control Mapping ! HELP

Questions and tweaks for Attract-Mode on ARpiCADE.

Moderator: dee2eR

vhstape
Community Member
Community Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2018 3:06 am

Control Mapping ! HELP

Post by vhstape » Sun Mar 04, 2018 3:09 am

How do I go through to map my controls for player 1 and player 2?

Also How do i configure controls for individual games, for instance I am having trouble with changing the controls to mortal kombat and NBA Jam indpendently as well...

mR_CaESaR
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 11:59 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Control Mapping ! HELP

Post by mR_CaESaR » Sun Mar 04, 2018 4:18 am

By default it's already mapped.

I believe it's laid out like normal JAMMA.

1, 2, 3
4, 5, 6

To map individual roms, it should work the same as it normally does in retroarch, ie. Load the rom, open retroarch menu, bind controls and save it for the particular game which should save the Config file in the same directory as the roms eg. wboy.cfg

vhstape
Community Member
Community Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2018 3:06 am

Re: Control Mapping ! HELP

Post by vhstape » Sun Mar 04, 2018 5:20 am

thx for the reply,

So I was able to access the avdmame "tab" menu in some games, where I can map my button configs overall and based on the independent game. So that's cool.

BUT....
All of the Mortal Kombats and NBA Jam, wont let me access the advmame "tab" menu... Any ideas?

THANKS!!!

vhstape
Community Member
Community Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2018 3:06 am

Re: Control Mapping ! HELP

Post by vhstape » Sun Mar 04, 2018 6:36 am

Yah
So I think it has something to do with the emulator that is being used for the game, some of the emulators don't allow you to use tab to access the game's menu... I realize that this is not an attract mode issue, anymore, so sorry for clogging the feed!

Does anyone know a work around or a backdoor that will allow me to assign player controls, dipswitches etc?

dee2eR
Inventor
Inventor
Posts: 1151
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:07 pm

Re: Control Mapping ! HELP

Post by dee2eR » Sun Mar 04, 2018 3:06 pm

which emulator are you using? If they're in 078 try pressing P1 start + Joystick right to get the MAME menu up, they should be configured correctly though - what are you having trouble with?

vhstape
Community Member
Community Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2018 3:06 am

Re: Control Mapping ! HELP

Post by vhstape » Sun Mar 04, 2018 8:06 pm

Hey man!

I am loving the arpicade... so thanks for putting out there.

It's quite a few games that I can't access the menus on. I'm using the prepacked roms on the SD that I payed extra for when buying my Arpicade. It's def all the mortal kombats, NBA Jam, street fighters, and others.

I tried hat joystick right + start doesnt work... also tried tab on the keyboard.... Maybe I did something wrong when I was tinkering with attract mode controls a couple days ago when i was trying to remap for my new 6 button layout. (I also have a problem where my keyboard arrow keys will not navigate the menus anymore either... Hmmmm... what would i need to change in order to use that right+start for access. ORRRR Is there a way I can reset things back to default, so that I can start fresh? (I was only able to back up my card after these problems existed...)

vhstape
Community Member
Community Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2018 3:06 am

Re: Control Mapping ! HELP

Post by vhstape » Sun Mar 04, 2018 8:17 pm

Oh ya,

And to answer your question... Some of the games are in the mame078 emulator.

dee2eR
Inventor
Inventor
Posts: 1151
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:07 pm

Re: Control Mapping ! HELP

Post by dee2eR » Tue Mar 06, 2018 12:43 am

Do you mean keyboard arrow keys are not working anywhere or just in the Retroarch menus? (they won't work in the retroacrch menus without changing a setting, joystick and b1/b2 shoudl work in retroarch menus)

When you say you remapped Attract-Mode do you mean just the frontend? It shouldn't effect the emulator mappings.

Not knowing what you have done it's tricky to give you steps to return to standard settings.

mR_CaESaR
Super Contributor
Super Contributor
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 11:59 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Control Mapping ! HELP

Post by mR_CaESaR » Sun Mar 11, 2018 4:53 am

So I spent about 1 hour today trying to figure out why the hell the control mapping started playing up...

Nothing worked for the life of me..

START+B1, START with a delay, START+R, START+D nothing!!

It only dawned on me when I accidentally pressed start on P2 that it may be possible the micro-switch was faulty! Low and behold, I replaced the microswitch and everything worked properly.

Bloodybone
Community Member
Community Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2019 8:18 pm

Re: Control Mapping ! HELP

Post by Bloodybone » Mon Jul 22, 2019 8:23 pm

i was having same problem, but fig out thx to this thread. i held player one and move joystick right.

However my problem is how do i disable that option once i have all the joysticks and buttons mapped?

in other words i dont want anyone to get into that menu and change my maping?

Post Reply